Google Business Profile Settings Added "Remove Business Profile"

Dec 15, 2022 - 7:41 am 1 — by
Filed Under Google Maps

Google Online Order Local

Google has recently added a new option to the Google Business Profile settings to remove that business profile. It is named "Removed Business Profile" and will allow you to mark a business as closed or permanently remove the business.

I think I saw this last week but I had no idea it was new, but Claudia T on Twitter said it is new. She said "Once hit you are able to permanently remove all content added by you, and all managers. Kind of dangerous!" Yep.

Here are screenshots:

click for full size

Step two:

click for full size

And if you do it, it is supposedly gone forever - I am not testing this:

So be careful and maybe try never to use this and oh, do not give permission to employees to do this...

Forum discussion at Twitter.

Update: Google added another option, which makes this a bit easier to manage:

 

Popular Categories

The Pulse of the search community

Google Search Volatility

More Details

Search Video Recaps

 
Video Details More Videos Subscribe to Videos

Most Recent Articles

Search Forum Recap

Daily Search Forum Recap: November 9, 2026

Nov 9, 2026 - 10:00 am
Google Updates

Google Search Ranking Volatility Status: Update November 8th/9th?

Nov 9, 2026 - 7:55 am
Google Ads

Google AI Mode Multiturn Ads Are Live - Follow-Up Query Ads

Nov 9, 2026 - 7:51 am
Google Maps

Google Adding Booking Links To Business Profiles Automatically?

Nov 9, 2026 - 7:41 am
Bing Ads

Bing Ads At Top Of AI Mode Results

Nov 9, 2026 - 7:31 am
Google Ads

Google Ads AI-Generated Summaries Above & Within Ads

Nov 9, 2026 - 7:21 am
Previous Story: New: Video Uploads For Google Reviews On Google Maps App