You Can Now Reopen Or Close Your Business On Google Maps

Dec 14, 2015 • 7:53 am | comments (1) by twitter | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Elisabeth from Google announced in the Google My Business Help forums that you can now close or reopen your business on Google Maps if it was done in error. She wrote, "when one of your locations closes, you can now mark it as closed in the list view of Google My Business to keep users up-to-date about your business." "You can also reopen a location if its status changes," Elisabeth added.

You cannot do this in bulk, yet, but it can be done via the Google My Business section.

You may be asked to verify that a location has closed. If you see the following card on a single location:

click for full size

Here are help documents on both closing a location or reopening a location within Google Maps.

The Local Search Forums has Linda saying, "this is GREAT news for listings erroneously marked closed. That is IF they'll put priority on what the owner indicates in dash, vs bots and public users edits." Indeed it is.

Forum discussion at Google My Business Help and Local Search Forums.

Previous story: Google Does Have Holiday Decorations For Chanukah, Christmas & Kwanzaa
 
blog comments powered by Disqus