Now Seeing Volatility For The Google Product Reviews Update (v. March 2022)

Mar 31, 2022 - 7:51 am 7 by
Filed Under Google Updates

Google Product Reviews Update March Volatility

Earlier this week I reported that we were not seeing huge changes yet for the March 2022 Google Products Reviews update. Well, it seems like some of the tools and a number of SEOs are now noticing larger changes specific to sites that would match the product reviews categories.

I am seeing some more chatter and some SEOs, like Glenn Gabe and also Lily Ray, are posting screenshots of sites they track in the sector seeing larger changes. Also, the tracking tools, some of them, are starting to show a larger upswing in volatility.

Charts Of Specific Sites

Here are some charts from Glenn Gabe, Lily Ray and Marie Haynes of specific sites they track in the product reviews sector showing changes - likely from the product reviews update:

The Tracking Tools

Like I said above, some of the tracking tools are starting to show some more widespread changes in the Google search results. I suspect many of the tools that have not shown the swings yet, will do so soon.

Here are some screenshots from the tools showing the volatility and I'll update this story throughout the day as the other tools update.

Semrush:

click for full size

Cognitive SEO:

click for full size

SERPmetrics:

click for full size

Advanced Web Rankings:

click for full size

Accuranker:

click for full size

RankRanger:

click for full size

Mozcast:

The last two should update later today with new data - I'll be updating them as I see them change.

SEO Chatter

So the ongoing WebmasterWorld has had some chatter since the update, he is the chatter specific to the product reviews update:

Very big drop (-40% to 50%) since 2 weeks now. Serps itself doesn´t seem to have changed so it could be some super AI that is going wild.

Wow today for some of my searches im seeing position 1-6 all YouTube, I had to triple check i wasn't in the video section! Website traffic continues to decline and according to my YouTube analytics traffic from google to my channel has improved by 46% since this time last year!

I am seeing continuing increases in top 3 ranking, but English language traffic is weak. USA is consistently weak every day for about 10 days now, UK also lower most days but not as much. Today Canada is also off by 37%. The theory about the war in Ukraine having an impact might be true, but if so why not lower traffic from continental Europe? Also, why the sudden shift and decline...if it were news related it would be more gradual, not overnight.

The sudden declines in traffic following the same patterns indicates to me that it's all manipulation on the part of Google. They are once again experimenting with page layout and other ways to ensure that website don't get any traffic and they keep it all. I see some sites that were major competitors reduced to running ads for everything now...which is exactly what Google wants of course. They won't make any profit at $5 per click with all the fraudulent clicks too. I tried it last year...Google's traffic from adwords is pure crap.

According to SEMrush I had a very large boost in visibility today, now passing or on part with my top competitor. Yet my home page traffic is down 71% and my USA traffic is down 56% so far this morning. Ranking really is not correlating with traffic. I wish I had the time and skills to analyze why, but I can't afford to hand Google more of my time, I'm busy looking for ways to diversify away from search. I have to say, social isn't much better. If you aren't paying FB or Instagram you will get nothing from those platforms either.

Something happened on Saturday 26th March for me:

Global site 1-25 March 100% The last 4 days 83.6% and today looking lower however enquiries stil good.

UK site 1-25 March 112% The last 4 days 81% and, as above, today looking lower.

Today it's even lower and still dropping...home page -61%, USA - 40%, UK -27%. Many of my landing pages are down exactly 17% at the same time, others down 45%, and the most highly trafficked -60%+. This has been getting worse for ~10 days now and business has vanished completely.

So it seems like this update may be finding its legs? What are you all noticing?

Forum discussion at WebmasterWorld.

 

Popular Categories

The Pulse of the search community

Follow

Search Video Recaps

 
Google Spam Update, Volatility & Indexing Bug, AI Overviews, Google Maps Exploit, Ads, Applebot - YouTube
Video Details More Videos Subscribe to Videos

Most Recent Articles

Search Forum Recap

Daily Search Forum Recap: June 24, 2024

Jun 24, 2024 - 10:00 am
Google Ads

Google Ads To Bring Automatically Created Assets To Ad Level?

Jun 24, 2024 - 7:51 am
Google

Google Perspectives Can Show Instagram Posts

Jun 24, 2024 - 7:41 am
Google Search Engine Optimization

Google Structured Data Carousel Guidance On How To Markup Multiple Items On Category Pages

Jun 24, 2024 - 7:31 am
Google Maps

Google Using AI Overviews On Business Profiles Local Listings

Jun 24, 2024 - 7:21 am
Google Search Engine Optimization

Google: When You Should Fix Pages 404 Status Codes

Jun 24, 2024 - 7:11 am
Previous Story: Google: Nofollow Is Not A Dampening Factor