Now Finished: March 2022 Google Product Reviews Update

Apr 12, 2022 - 7:31 am 24 by
Filed Under Google Updates

Google Products Review Update 3 Done

The March 2022 Google Product Reviews update is now fully rolled out, Alan Kent from Google told me. The updated started on March 23, 2022 and ended 19 days later on April 11, 2022. Alan Kent told me "Sorry for the delay in response. It was almost... almost... almost.... Yes! The rollout is now complete!" Here is that response on Twitter:

This product reviews update was the 3rd version of this product reviews update algorithm, the previous two versions were the April 2021 Product Reviews Update and the December 2021 Product Reviews Update. The March version was updated to incorporate more signals and criteria in this niche ranking algorithm.

This March 2022 version was super slow to kick in but then on March 31st we saw some big volatility and then again on April 5th as well.

Google Product Reviews Update March 2022 Quick Facts

Here are the most important things that we know right now in short form:

  • Name: Google March 2022 Product Reviews Update
  • Launched: March 23, 2022 at around 12:00pm ET
  • Rollout: Finished rolling out on April 11, 2022 at around 3pm ET
  • Targets: It looks at product review content
  • Penalty: It is not a penalty, it promotes or rewards "insightful analysis and original research."
  • Not a core update: Many are going to say this is a core update, it is not.
  • English Language but will expand: This is only looking at English-language content right now but likely will expand soon to other languages, this is a global launch.
  • Impact: Google would not tell me what percentage of queries or searches were impacted by this update.
  • Discover: This update can impact your performance in Google Discover, Google previously said.
  • Recover: If you were hit by this, then you will need to look at your content and see if you can do better with Google's advice below
  • Refreshes: Google will do periodic refreshes to this algorithm but may not communicate those updates in the future. This may be the first refresh that Google has done, it is the first refresh Google communicated about.

I have a lot more detail on this update in these stories:

I also have a data centric post on this update at Search Engine Land.

So now that it is really fully done, you can start to see if you were hit by this update - maybe?

Forum discussion at Twitter.

Update on January 3, 2023: It seems Google is now saying this was completed on April 6, 2022:

John said on Mastodon, "It's hard picking a date for some of these (especially afterwards). For many (not all) updates, the update rolls out, it takes a while to be visible (which is when we call it a start), and it takes a while to be in most queries / URLs / datacenters (which is when we call it done). There's no binary border for start / stop, it's more about "starts being visible" and "mostly settled down". It's a bit like timing when bread rises when you bake it."

And then this:

 

Popular Categories

The Pulse of the search community

Follow

Search Video Recaps

 
Ongoing Google March Core Update, Googlebot To Crawl Less, Pay For Google Search AI & More - YouTube
Video Details More Videos Subscribe to Videos

Most Recent Articles

Google

Google: Ranking In Shopping, Images & Other Verticals Doesn't Hurt Your Web Rankings

Apr 12, 2024 - 7:31 am
Google

Google Knowledge Panels - Mentioned People

Apr 12, 2024 - 7:21 am
Google Maps

Google Maps Suggest An Edit Flow Updated

Apr 12, 2024 - 7:11 am
Search Engine Conferences

Recap of Google's Search Central Live Romania 2024

Apr 12, 2024 - 7:05 am
Search Forum Recap

Daily Search Forum Recap: April 11, 2024

Apr 11, 2024 - 4:00 pm
Google Search Engine Optimization

Google Responds To Claims Where Search Results Can Be Harmful & Dangerous

Apr 11, 2024 - 7:51 am
Previous Story: Google Still Does Not Support WebSocket Connections In Googlebot