Smart? Annoyance? Privacy Issues? Easier Management?
Just like Orkut, Google AdWords accounts will be migrated into the Google Accounts username/password system. Why are they doing this? Most probably for consolidation, integration and flexibility for its current programs and future developments.
Next time you login to your AdWords account, you will notice the following box.
At SEW Forums, Andrew Goodman summarizes:
You'll soon be able to update your login any time before Jan. 15, 2006, through your account. Here are some things to consider when updating your login:
* Your login is the only thing that will change. All your account information - such as billing and campaign details - will remain the same. * We recommend you don't share your Google Account with other users in order to safeguard your information. * If you already have a Google Account, you can use it as your new AdWords login. You might already have a Google Account if you use Gmail, Google Groups, Google Alerts, Froogle Shopping List, Personalized Search, Personalized Homepage, and Google Answers. * If you currently share your AdWords account with other users, each user will be asked to create their own Google Account when they sign in. You can also send each person an invitation to make the switch. * After you choose your new Google Account, you'll still be able to sign in to AdWords at adwords.google.com. In addition, if you choose a Google Account that you use for your other Google services, you'll be able to move back and forth between accounts - without having to sign in and out each time.
However, Danny Sullivan is more accepting of this change. He says, "I'm OK with it. I was kind of tired of having three different logons, adwords, gmail and everything else."