Google Can't Count Maps Reviews

Nov 13, 2013 • 8:57 am | comments (9) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Google Maps ReviewsSpotted via Mike Blumenthal, it seems Google is having a hard time counting the number of reviews on a Google Maps listing.

One thread in the Google Business Help forum shows how this listing shows a summary and says there are 35 reviews. But if you add them up by counting all the reviews on the listing, you will count 62 reviews.

Why can't Google count them? Beats me.

It does appear to be an issue specific with the new Google Business Google+ local pages only.

Google has not confirmed or acknowledge any issues on the thread but no one should be surprised if Google Maps has issues, they always do.

Forum discussion at Google Business Help.

Update: Google posted they are aware of the issue and working on a fix. Jade Wang from Google wrote:

Letting you know that we're working on an issue with the review count not matching the actual # of reviews and also reversing some incorrect review takedowns. Thanks for your patience.

Previous story: Google Offering Free Online Site Reviews This Monday
 

Comments:

Fix Computers

11/13/2013 02:29 pm

My listing for Fix Computers has been cut from 42 reviews to 22, but all 42 are there if you look! Fix Computers Manchester Google+Page: https://plus.google.com/+Fix-computersNet/about?hl=en

Stuart David

11/13/2013 03:30 pm

This is usually because of bans, or bogus reviews, users who have recently been banned in bulk won't always *immediately* show. Google like most will probably do a count(*) on reviews periodically then store in an easy to reach file to reduce overhead on the memory, while review entries are streamed in realtime or in a separate periodically rendered call. Just a standard coding cache/saving resource thing I'd imagine. Will soon catch up.

Eitan Gorodetsky

11/13/2013 04:16 pm

I now see they are fixing the problem, a few of our listings are now accurate with the review number.

JustConsumer

11/13/2013 05:35 pm

I can sell solution to Google. Free for you. I'm using temporary DB in such cases. It manages everything in real time and once in a period of time (24 hours in my case) it copies re-counted data into the main DB. Resources of the main DB are saved and everything counts in real time. Anyway, how is this, obviously poor job done by Google, correlates with this : "If you have a website, and would like to have someone from Google take a look & give you feedback, here's your chance!" http://www.seroundtable.com/google-site-reviews-17666.html ???? How can someone give feedback to others, doing a poor job ? Here is more of the latest poor job by Googlers (excluding Search, where almost everything is poor). Those, who would like to wear camera on the head, can take the line here : http://www.google.com/glass/start/how-to-get-one/index.html It says "If you’re a US resident ..." and then provides the drop down menu to select the country. How is that?

JustConsumer

11/13/2013 05:36 pm

I have new motto for Google - " No, we can't ! "

ethalon

11/13/2013 06:11 pm

And how big and with how many moving parts if you DB compared to what Google is handling in regards to the Maps reviews? "It says "If you’re a US resident ..." and then provides the drop down menu to select the country. How is that?" US residents may happen to be in another country for work or other reasons while still maintaining their US citizenship...

JustConsumer

11/13/2013 06:51 pm

And how big are Google's resources comparing to mine ? ------------------ But it doesn't say "If you’re a US citizen ...", it says "If you’re a US resident ..." I'm not US citizen, but was US resident. You're US citizen, but it's possible, that you will be not US resident. I'm curious, why Knowledge Graph or basic Google Search didn't help Googlers to know the difference ?

stuart smith

11/14/2013 03:33 am

Same thing with my reviews. We have 31 reviews but the count says 15. Always seems to be something going wrong here.

Graciousstore

11/16/2013 03:08 am

Guess Google is preoccupied with other things and that is why they forgot how to count

blog comments powered by Disqus