Google Maps Bug: Business Pending Review

Jul 19, 2011 • 8:46 am | comments (11) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Google Maps LogoThere are dozens of threads at the Google Places and Maps forums with complaints that their business listings within Google Places have been suddenly changes to "Pending" status, from the "Active" status.

A Google Places Help thread has confirmation from Google that this is indeed a bug. Google Places representative, Brianna, confirmed last night that the issue is a bug in the Google Places system and Google is working on fixing it. Brianna said:

Thanks for reporting this issue. We are aware that listings have reverted to pending in users' accounts. To check if your listing is live, please do a search in Google Maps for [BUSINESS NAME in POSTAL CODE].

Boost ads are unaffected by this issue.

We will follow up with more information when we have it.

Google Places Pending

Personally, I do not seem to be affected by this bug - but many many businesses and local SEOs are reporting this issue.

There is no estimated time for a fix.

Forum discussion at Google Places Help.

Update: Jay from Google posted an update that this should be resolved.

Previous story: Southern Sudan Being Added To Google Maps
 

Comments:

Black Seo Guy

07/19/2011 02:19 pm

Google can't always be on top of there game, they somethings run into issues just like the other sites. "Black Seo Guy "Signing Off"

Doug

07/19/2011 02:25 pm

my accounts are back to normal!  just be patient. 

Josh Williams

07/19/2011 02:32 pm

I've seen the Pending bug for several of my clients.  I made some minor updates to the listings, saved, and the status changed back to active.

Linda Buquet

07/19/2011 04:42 pm

The problem is reportedly fixed. Brianna posted this AM: http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Places/thread?tid=10c3ba120eade2a7&hl=en As many of you have noticed, this issue has been resolved by our engineers. Listings that reverted to “Pending – being reviewed” on 7/18/11 are restored to Active. If you still have any listings that are marked as “Pending”, please review the attached FAQ.

Jbrsd1

07/19/2011 04:53 pm

I went and hit edit just cause I need to make some edits anyway and submit and it fixed it...then just hit edit-submit for my other customers and they changed back to active

Dewaldt Huysamen

07/20/2011 11:29 am

Yeah on two of our client's as well. And on my places account with 12 business all saying the same. Also picked this up last week already.

Acreliable

10/05/2011 10:40 am

what should we does? delete the actual pending review business and open another account and this must fix the problem or what .  my business is on pending review for more than 4 weeks and is hurting my income .   i need help please . 

Info

11/10/2011 02:45 am

Nov and still unsolved, been "Pending" for months. Up on Bing in a day!

Jim H.

12/16/2011 02:42 pm

I was affected by this but it was corrected quickly.  On another note. Be careful with setting up Google places.  I have run into many companies that have had competitors leave fake negative reviews with fake gmail accounts.  If you are trying to promote the good about yourself on google search check out goodpickle.com.  This website is a compliment only website.  Let people make a decision based on how much good you have collected.

Mark @ Make Them Click

03/06/2013 11:08 pm

"Update: Jay from Google posted an update that this should be resolved" Dream on. Whatever the problem is, it still exists for tens of thousands of users years later PS none of the links in your post don't go to any specific thread. They just go to the main groups page where there is no information about the issue.

Bob

03/13/2013 03:58 am

Just create a new account

blog comments powered by Disqus