Can't Reply To Google Maps Negative Reviews? You're Not Alone

Jan 17, 2011 • 8:26 am | comments (10) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Back in August 2010, Google began allowing business owners to reply to reviews placed in their Google Place pages by customers and others.

The issue is, there are dozens of reports that business owners cannot reply to these reviews.

A Google Places Help thread has business owners complaining about the process not working since September 2010. Google said they fixed the issues but ultimately it has not been fixed.

Last week, Cecelia from Google responded to the thread saying:

As a quick update, I've shared all of your reports with our team as examples of the issue. We're looking into this and working to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.

As you can see, it is still not resolved and many business owners have no recourse with negative reviews.

Forum discussion at Google Places Help.

Previous story: Google May Use The Meta Keywords Tag Again
 

Comments:

Jonathon Hewitt

01/17/2011 04:19 pm

I responded to four positive reviews that were left on a Google Places business listing that I manage and only two of them actually got published... Weird...

Donna

01/17/2011 10:12 pm

I've had employees that couldnt make the cut write nasty reviews. Why is this allowed?

Thomas Meyers

01/17/2011 11:51 pm

If a customer is upset enough to write a bad review maybe it should stay the way it is. How is the business reply helping anything? just a thought. http://atlantaseoconsulting.com

Kelli

01/18/2011 02:28 pm

There's two sides to every story, Thomas. Sometimes the customer's version is quite different than the business's. Plus it would be helpful to hear whether the complaint was actually resolved to everyone's satisfaction.

chatmeter

01/18/2011 09:55 pm

This might end up being pretty damaging for the business owners who are experiencing this problem. If I were in that situation I would try to message the person who left the bad review and resolve the issue privately. -Isaac @ chatmeter

God145927

01/23/2011 02:54 pm

say that sentence again, "If a customer is upset enough to write a bad review maybe it should stay the way it is" and then look in the mirror and say it out loud. Then realize you're a twat. This country is filled with angry, insane, delusional, unemployed, pissed off and betrayed people. You think allowing them to vandalize every google maps listing is a GOOD idea. Wake up idiot.

josh

11/01/2011 11:55 am

I do belive its unfair and rude that bussiness owners can't review there bussiness but then again its taking away bussiness from people that can't do that

Louise

01/04/2012 09:07 pm

i have 2 bad reviews to my company that are very wrong and details not 100% correct and seems very strange that our  opposition joined the day before, im unable to reply to answer the review. it could be damaging the reputation of my company yet its not true information. i have also been told that 3 of my customers cant write a review on there yet they want to write good ones as they are so happy with our work. we have ask for it to be looked at and told 4 months is the usual reply time, thats great in a time when companies are fighting for all the work they can    thanks google

Grace Joubarne

03/24/2014 01:17 pm

In my practice I work with many people who are addicted to some pretty serious substances. Sometimes they don't even show up or do the work they are supposed to do. It is rare, but occasionally one is so very nasty that they will leave a negative review when I don't refund them the fee, after my having spent some 10 hours in preparation, etc. I presently have 18 five star reviews, and one extremely negative review from someone who actually received far more assistance and services pro-bono than she lets on, yet her review is untrue and damning. Of course, there is no way to reply so that people can see the sheer nonsense this addict is spewing. Sometimes Google is just not what it says it is.

Saleh Adel

03/24/2014 01:29 pm

good info thanks

blog comments powered by Disqus