Google Maps Modifies Reviews Filter? Reviews Go Missing Again

Aug 7, 2012 • 8:47 am | comments (13) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Google Maps ReviewsGoogle Maps reviews going missing is nothing new to Google Maps, we've covered it too many times and we even have a Google Maps Reviews Help Guide but the reviews keep going away and coming back.

The lastest case was from this week, where this is a large Google Maps Help thread with complaints from business owners that their reviews are missing.

Google's community manager for Google+ Local wrote that the Google Maps team is looking into it. She said, " popping in to say that we're investigating. Thanks for the reports."

Michael Blumenthal, a Google Maps top contributor, wrote his theory that this is a new reviews filter that may have gone bad?

Google has likely implemented a new (or minimally upgraded) their review filter. It seems to trap many more good reviews than in the past. Usually these types of filters are "trainable". Google is interested in improving the filter by training it with examples of good reviews that have been caught so that it is less likely to do so in the future.

Also they have still not fixed the problems that they have with "losing" reviews. That always adds a bit of excitement to this mix.

I have been taking as many cases as I can process to them as I think it is total crap that so many reviews are being tagged. And I have been asking them to review them. The problem I have is I can't tell whether a review in fact spam (the only thing I like less than Google's approach are bs reviews) and what might be triggering the filter as much of its functioning is a state secret. As Jim pointed out it is likely that over time things will settle down and good reviews will be tagged less. If you haven't figured it out by now though the algo will be never 100% perfect and there is always some % of cases that it will handle poorly.

Forum discussion at Google Maps Help.

Previous story: Google Transit Adds Planned NYC Subway Alerts
 

Comments:

Praveen Sharma

08/07/2012 01:00 pm

That's true. Even we have lost 90% of reviews from one of our client's Google local listing profile. And we are feeling helpless now. Any idea what's actually cooking inside Google?

Alan

08/07/2012 01:02 pm

Add to that, that searches like "european maps" brings up your local pizza shops and it is starting to look like Google is losing control of the local experience. Since the integration with G+.. Local has been completely busted!

Mike Bayes

08/07/2012 10:01 pm

Our Clients can't seem to get any new reviews to appear. There all legitimate from real customers with real Google plus accounts. Ridiculous.

Andre G

08/10/2012 02:48 pm

Hopefully the new filtering will work and increase the importance of reviews but as of now this is making me not want to use Google for local reviews. I expected problems like this would occur however considering it must be pretty difficult to engineer a stream line integration of Google Places into Google+. That is Google for you though always looking to change and improve and get better push limits etc. It's what makes them so good at what they do right?

paul

08/21/2012 07:24 pm

Google is killing itself. In their effort to try to compete with facebook, they are pissing off every business owner on the planet with this Google local crap. It does me no good to encourage clients to go set up an account and post a review if Google is going to block it. Sure does not make me want to advertise with them. It makes more sense to encourage people to go use Yahoo where their reviews still get seen.

Martin Oxby

08/30/2012 08:12 am

This is still happening. We lost about 10 reviews collected from happy clients over a space of well over a year. And a review posted in the last 24 hours hasn't even appeared. When they use reviews as a signal for local search terms, to completely mess this up is messing with businesses. This is most unhelpful.

oracle10

09/12/2012 07:11 am

This looks like a simple way to promote Google+. Take the good reviews out so that desperate business owner asks his customers to write reviews by opening Google+ account. Make it impossible for good reviews to appear and desperate business owner will try even harder because his livelihood depends on it. So much for "Do No Evil". I think Google has become the most evil organization.

Small Business Owner

09/17/2012 01:26 am

I lost about 100 reviews on a few different locations. These were hard earned. This is killing our business. Basically google has whipped the reputation of millions of businesses, in order to promote google+ We were integrating just fine adding our Google+ pages but now those are gone.

cophotomom

10/30/2012 08:05 pm

We have the exact same problem, super fustrating

Nima

11/01/2012 12:24 am

I agree it is a total mess !!! ever since that we upgraded our account to Google+ not even one customer review has been posted. I guess they don't consider the fact that how hard it is to get good reviews from customers and when you get them they are not posted !!! this is a total BS. Google must figure it out. I think they just don't want to invest in their system and all they want is a FREE money from pay per click!!

CCTV

12/12/2012 10:20 pm

MY COMPANY REVIEWS ARE ERASED ATFER ONE DAY OF BEING UP!

CCTV

12/12/2012 10:24 pm

GOOGLE NEEDS A TECHNICAL SUPPORT NUMBER IN THE USA FOR THERE CUSTOMERS.

Glenn

12/24/2012 12:38 am

Google knows almost all the complaints are from people trying to 'game' the system with fake or semi fake accounts leaving positive reviews to get better ranking.

blog comments powered by Disqus