Google: If We Email You, Login To Your Google My Business Or It May Be Removed

Aug 26, 2015 • 8:33 am | comments (16) by twitter | Filed Under Google Maps
 

google maps

In June, Google began warning business owners that they need to login and verify their business listings within the Google My Business account. If they did not, they run the risk of having their business listing removed from Google Maps.

Well, now Google is warning businesses again. Well, they warned them a few times since.

But yesterday, Google posted on Google+ a new warning. Saying you should login to your Google My Business account more than just once a year but if you don't login within a full year, Google will email you and if you still do not login after the email, you run the risk of the business being removed from Google Maps.

Google said:

If you’re a business owner and you haven’t logged into your Google My Business account in over a year, you may receive an email from us soon asking you to sign in and confirm your business information. Just follow the steps in the email by simply logging into your Google My Business dashboard, then checking to make sure your information is up to date and submitting any changes if necessary. If your account remains inactive after receiving a notice from us, then it could run the risk of being de-verified, or in rare cases, removed from Google Maps.

So just add it to your calendar, login twice a year to be safe and don't run the risk of forgetting or not seeing the email reminder.

Forum discussion at Google+.

Previous story: Google: We Only Discover Links On Pages With 200 Status Codes
 
blog comments powered by Disqus