Google Keeps Asking iOS Users: "Would Like To Use Your Location"

Feb 1, 2013 • 8:23 am | comments (13) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Search Engine
 

A Google Web Search Help thread has several reports over the last several days of iOS users, Apple iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch, complaining that every time they go to Google, they are asked "Google would like to use your location," yes or no.

Google Would Like To Use Your Location

Now, the bug isn't the prompt, it is that even if you answer yes, allow or no, don't allow, Google still keeps asking. It is like Google doesn't remember your answer. To me, it seems like an issue with cookies on iOS devices are being mixed up.

One user explained his frustration:

I don't care if Google knows my location but even when I "allow" it the dialogue box asks me every time I open the google main page or navigate through it or back to it. The constant appearance of the question is what troubles me not giving away my location.

I am using an original iPad with the most recent iOS. Any ideas how to stop this?

Googlers are trying to get to the bottom of this by asking questions and digging into more details.

Jacqueline from Google said:

Thanks for reporting the problem, everyone. We're looking into it right now.

I was not able to replicate this myself.

Forum discussion at Google Web Search Help.

Previous story: Animated Google AdSense Ads
 

Comments:

Liam Fisher

02/01/2013 01:31 pm

I don't think this is unique to iOS. I'm on Android and every time I hit news.google.com when using Chrome I get asked to share location data. It's pretty irritating.

James

02/01/2013 03:28 pm

I get this too, it's really annoying.

RANU JAIN

02/01/2013 04:13 pm

Seems not for all the Android users. I am not facing this problem. Lucky me!!

J

02/02/2013 09:37 pm

I have iPad mini, this has only been doing this for me the last few days. I updated to iOS 6.1 yesterday, still does it.

Mark

02/03/2013 03:09 am

I was receiving same message. To fix this issue I went to Settings and turn off Privacy Browsing under the Safari App then clicked close all and then turned it back on. Problem went away

sarahahahahaaa

02/03/2013 02:36 pm

It's driving me MAD!!!

Yvonne

02/03/2013 03:37 pm

As Mark said previously..I went to Safari settings, turned off private browsing and the annoying message has not come back. Thanks Mark

Knightmason

02/06/2013 12:03 pm

It is annoying enough that I googled it and am writing about it and about to change search engines for the first time in 13 yrs

Dave

02/06/2013 05:27 pm

Driving me mad !! Now using Bing

Speed

02/07/2013 08:43 pm

So disabling my privacy (so google will automatically know my location) is a FIX? NOT! I want my option to have privacy and no prompt everytime i open safari on my iphone/ipad back google/apple - get to work!

Google this!

02/10/2013 12:52 pm

Same issue here, forced to switch search engines using iOS 6.1 on iPhone5...grr

Rich

02/14/2013 04:05 pm

Happens to me whether I have In Private browsing ON or OFF Seriously frustrating

Rich

02/14/2013 04:10 pm

OK, so just went into Settings > Safari > Private Browsing is ON > Cleared Cookies and Data and now it is not asking me. Corrupt Cookie I guess

blog comments powered by Disqus