Confirmed: Search Community Talks on Google YouTube Rumors

Oct 9, 2006 • 7:58 am | comments (2) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google News & Finances
 

Google to buy YouTube? That is the rumor Techcrunch started and then the Wall Street Journal backed.

Web-search giant Google is in talks to acquire YouTube for roughly $1.6 billion, a person familiar with the matter says. An acquisition of the closely held company would catapult Google to the lead spot in online video at a moment when consumers are rapidly increasing the amount of time they spend viewing video clips online, and Internet video advertising is booming.

So what does the search community think?

Brett Tabke answers peoples concerns about Google having to worry about copyright woes perfectly by just linking to an article found in the Google cache related to this topic. Brilliant. :) I reported some of that at my SEW blog post named A Look At Google's Copyright Battles last week, so this is no big deal.

Forum discussion at WebmasterWorld.

This article was written the night before, and scheduled to go live the following morning.

Confirmed: Google has posted a press release on the acquisition.

Previous story: Google's Blog Hacked, Fake Post on Cancelling Click to Call Feature
 

Comments:

synthetron

10/09/2006 09:49 pm

Please join us in the collaboratively filtered realtime discussion: TOPIC: google youtube START TIME: 2006-10-10 , 00:00 CEST (Brussels, Paris, Rome, Madrid, Stockholm). 2006-09-10 , 23:00 BST (London, Dublin, Lisbon). 2006-09-10 , 18:00 EDT (New York, Detroit, Toronto, Montreal). 2006-09-10 , 15:00 PDT (Vancouver, Los Angeles, Tijuana, Yukon). TO JOIN: go to the following url: https://www.synthetron.com/account/tag/conversation/googleyoutube Confirm [yes] to the security warning and follow the instructions. (In some companies a proxy login dialog box will appear. You then need to type your company internet username and password). YOU NEED: A Java plugin installed on your browser.

Mike

10/10/2006 07:28 am

As of press time, the rumor is also confirmed. Google has already bought Youtube at a staggering price of $1.65 billion.

blog comments powered by Disqus