Google Webmaster Tools Now Notifying Webmasters Of Right To Be Forgotten Removals

Jul 2, 2014 • 8:15 am | comments (6) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Search Engine
 

Google Webmaster ToolsGoogle Webmaster Tools began sending out notices to webmasters who had their content removed from the European versions of Google over the Right To Be Forgotten law in the European Union.

Now, if content of yours is removed from the European versions of Google, Google will inform you via Google Webmaster Tools about which specific pages were removed.

I have access to a lot of Webmaster Tools accounts and a couple of them received these notices. Here is one, blocking out the URLs to ensure the site's privacy (ha, privacy):

Google Webmaster Tools Right To Be Forgotten Removals

The notification says:

Notice of removal from Google Search

We regret to inform you that we are no longer able to show the following pages from your website in response to certain searches on European versions of Google:

[example URL(s) go here]

For more information, see

https://www.google.com/policies/faq/?hl=en

I am not the only one who got these. Menachem Rosenbaum posted on Twitter about it and Alex Graves also posted on Twitter about it.

Have you received one of these?

Forum discussion at Twitter & Twitter.

Previous story: Got To Be A Bug: Google Shopping Ads With Blue Highlights
 

Comments:

Peter Nikolow

07/02/2014 01:19 pm

I wondering if results are removed only for EU version of Google will they be shown on other geo regions like US, CA, AU?

StevenLockey

07/02/2014 03:03 pm

Yes they are, you can access them by accessing .com

CaptainKevin

07/02/2014 03:39 pm

At least some countries value the privacy of their citizens to some degree. That's more than what I can say for the United States.

Christoph C. Cemper

07/02/2014 03:39 pm

Yes, confirmed. it's rolled out to many different EU countries today. The results are still visible on the .COM variant, which seems to be in line the court ruling.

Christoph C. Cemper

07/02/2014 03:41 pm

The examples I've seen seem to be motivated by reputation management (bad mouthing of a business, etc.) not for "privacy" reasons as expected, but I've only seen a few.

WebDevHere

07/10/2014 01:00 pm

I have received this notification too. How do you think is it better to remove mentioned page from the site or to leave it?

blog comments powered by Disqus