Google Personalized Search Removal of Results Feature

Sep 26, 2005 • 8:43 am | comments (0) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Search Engine Optimization
 

Matt Cutts last week posted an entry named UI fun: Remove result where he describes an added beta feature added to some Google Personalized search users. Matt describes;

But if you’re in this experiment, you’ll have newfound powers. Click the “Remove result” link and with one click you can drop that url from your search results. It looks like this.

By default, it will only block that url for that particular search. If you’re really annoyed, you can click “More options” and you’ll get two more choices: block this url from all future searches and (my personal favorite) the ability to block the entire host from all future searches. Here’s what it looks like:

How do you see it?

f you have an email address like johnpublicuser@gmail.com, you should be able to go to http://www.google.com/psearch and sign in with “johnpublicuser@gmail.com”

If you don't want to do that, I did a search on "Web site" and removed the first result. Here is the step by step.

remove-step1.gif

I clicked the remove result link and was shown this line.

remove-step2.gif

Then I clicked more options and was presented with...

remove-step3.gif

Forum discussion at DigitalPoint Forums.

Previous story: MSN Ad Center to Go Live Today?
 

Comments:

No comments.

blog comments powered by Disqus