Google Places For Business Adds Reviews Section

Nov 26, 2013 • 8:50 am | comments (30) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Maps
 

Google PlacesGoogle announced that Google Places for Business has added a new section for business owners to manage and respond to reviews left on their Google Maps business listings.

Google said:

Today, we’re introducing Reviews in Google Places for Business. Now you can learn what your customers are saying about your business on Google and across the web, in one place. If you have a verified business listing, you will now see your customer ratings and reviews in the easy-to-use review inbox.

Google's Jade Wang shared the news with businesses in the Google Business Help forum adding:

To get started, go to the dashboard you use to manage your business information, click the listing you’d like to manage, and choose Reviews from the left hand navigation menu.

You’ll see a Reviews inbox listing any reviews Google users have left for your business as well as snippets of reviews written about your business on other websites. The Reviews analytics tab includes information detailing where users have evaluated your business, and the average score of reviews of your business.

Not all listings are in the new Google+ local section and they will be upgraded in the future.

Here is a picture:

Google Places For Business Adds Reviews Section

Local SEOs are very happy about this addition, that is until it gets plagued with bugs.

Forum discussion at Google Business Help.

Previous story: Heaven's Gate Still Spamming Google Even After Mass Suicide
 

Comments:

Adam Sgammotta

11/26/2013 02:06 pm

Is there any way to upgrade to this new format? I still see the same old Places layout with the message: Coming soon: An easier to use Google Places for Business We're making Google Places for Business easier to use. You don't have to do anything to get the new Google Places for Business, it'll be automatically updated when available.

Yo Mamma

11/26/2013 04:20 pm

Google just needs to go away and come back.... no just stay away

Martaay

11/26/2013 04:27 pm

me neither

Guest

11/26/2013 04:43 pm

I wonder if google has noticed that it can be spammed again. Google empira relax, lust for power can kill.

Robert Mangutl

11/26/2013 04:44 pm

I wonder weather how many people will spam this again. Google empire relax! Lust for power can kill .....

JeremySeoChicago

11/26/2013 07:15 pm

I like the concept, but will have to try it out before I come back with my verdict. Hopefully they can prevent the influx of spam inquiries on local listings!

Yo Mamma

11/26/2013 07:58 pm

The weather is great this time of the year!

Yo Mamma

11/26/2013 08:08 pm

How can I stop Google from SPAMMING my email with Google Play advertising? Disgusting and hypocritical of this low life evil company

ethalon

11/26/2013 08:16 pm

I believe you had the option to opt-in to those emails when you first started with Google Play (I may be incorrect, it might have been opt-out). Those emails have a link at the bottom to unsubscribe, like most every other email subscriptions. So...not exactly disgusting and hypocritical. More like not paying complete attention while signing up and not bothering to check for the unsubscribe link.

JustConsumer

11/26/2013 09:35 pm

Google confirmed, but ignored my several unsubscribe attempts on G+. I had to remove all "friends" from the list to stop the spam. Suppose it's the same with the Google Play.

ethalon

11/26/2013 09:39 pm

Hmm, that is annoying. The Google Play unsubscribe worked for me just fine back when I needed to get rid of their mail. Still can't remember if it was opt-in or opt-out on initial sign up though.

JustConsumer

11/26/2013 09:50 pm

Or probably it was the Mute link ... But anyway only Remove button helped, despite Google confirmations, that I will not get more notifications.

Yo Mamma

11/26/2013 10:25 pm

DumB A ethalon - AKA MUTT CUTTS - I have OPTED OUT

Yo Mamma

11/26/2013 10:26 pm

I never 'subscribe' to any of Google's crap - They choose to SPAM everyone, at every opportunity regardless. Its a shameful evil company and thats all there is to it

xoxo

11/26/2013 10:49 pm

google is typical black hat & MFA.

Soni Sharma

11/27/2013 09:03 am

I love the features introduced in Google local business listing in past 6 months. And I personally think Google local for businesses with Google plus and Youtube channel become more complex but fruitful for users and business owners.

Atul Rawat

11/27/2013 09:20 am

Really helpful for business owners. It will surely help business owners to improve products/services.

Sundar Rawat

11/27/2013 11:12 am

As much as business owners will reply and communicate with users (who have left reviews on their listing), would help in local ranking? I am asking this because no. of reviews and reply would be a factor to rank in Google Local Listings. Isn't it?

ethalon

11/27/2013 12:53 pm

...so you opted out. ...I am still curious about the unsubscribe link at the bottom of the emails. Did you attempt to use that? It should take care of the problem. I would be interested in knowing if unsubscribing via the link at the bottom of the email works, but it seems you are more interested in screaming nonsense than actually solving the problem.

ethalon

11/27/2013 12:57 pm

You either neglected to opt-out, accidentally opted-in or refuse to hit the unsubscribe link in the bottom of the emails. The answer to your problem has been given, are you just looking for reasons to be pissed off and rant? Your "its[sic] a shameful evil company and thats[sic] all there is to it" over an issue which you have full control over is indicative of the problem you are facing.

Yo Mamma

11/27/2013 10:57 pm

Just go away Mutt Cutts

Yo Mamma

11/27/2013 10:58 pm

Shameful

Gracious Store

12/01/2013 04:17 am

Will Google send email alerts to business owners to let them know when customers have left reviews for them r is it just the responsibility of the business owners to keep track of their the reviews customers leave for them.

China Panion

12/10/2013 08:44 pm

That's a great question

Hello

12/23/2013 05:30 pm

Do reviews on google places count towards googles trusted sources for the seller ratings

Homayoun

01/28/2014 11:03 pm

Rogers Wireless I have using your cellphone services from 2007. During the period I experience a lot of frauds and stealing my money by Rogers Canada. It started from Late Mr Rogers to Mr Mohammed the Rogers Managers. I have all evidence and the latest is paying $450 for my contract that I had no signed contract and with no new device just using the devices that I had from 2007 before Iphone Era. I need to adjust at least unfair charge otherwise I will actively stand against Rogers in every spot of Internet to aware all those who are ripping off by Rogers Mobility. Stnas your customer side for running your business rather than stealing their money.

Homayoun

01/28/2014 11:13 pm

I had Rogers cellphones from 2007. During the period I experience a lot of frauds and stealing my money by Rogers Canada. It started from Late Mr Rogers to Mr Mohammed the current Rogers Managers. I have all evidence and the latest is paying $450 for my contract that I had no signed contract and with no new device just using the devices that I had from 2007 before Iphone Era. I asked to adjust the charges but robber is robber. I decided actively stand against Rogers in every spot of Internet to tell all those who are ripping off by Rogers Mobility. Hate Rogers is a forum in www.haterogers.com join the forum to adjust Rogers to earn from its services not for robbering and stealing people's money

Homayoun

01/28/2014 11:15 pm

I had Rogers cellphones from 2007. During the period I experience a lot of frauds and stealing my money by Rogers Canada. It started from Late Mr Rogers to Mr Mohammed the current Rogers Managers. I have all evidence and the latest is paying $450 for my contract that I had no signed contract and with no new device just using the devices that I had from 2007 before Iphone Era. I asked to adjust the charges but robber is robber. I decided actively stand against Rogers in every spot of Internet to tell all those who are ripping off by Rogers Mobility. Hate Rogers is a forum in www.ihaterogers.ca join the forum to adjust Rogers to earn from its services not for robbing and stealing people's money

Homayoun

01/28/2014 11:17 pm

I had Rogers cellphones from 2007. During the period I experience a lot of frauds and stealing my money by Rogers Canada. It started from Late Mr Rogers to Mr Mohammed the current Rogers Managers. I have all evidence and the latest is paying $450 for my contract that I had no signed contract and with no new device just using the devices that I had from 2007 before Iphone Era. I asked to adjust the charges but robber is robber. I decided actively stand against Rogers in every spot of Internet to tell all those who are ripping off by Rogers Mobility. Hate Rogers is a forum in www.ihaterogers.ca join the forum to adjust Rogers to earn from its services not for robbing and stealing people's money.

Spook SEO

02/18/2014 11:12 am

Hi Barry, This is a very useful tool for SEOs and online marketers. This is a great update. It’s so interesting since the owner can respond to Google reviews. Google places for business is really cool and it will encourage more online marketers. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

blog comments powered by Disqus