You Can't Cancel Your Google AdWords Account

Nov 19, 2007 • 10:12 am | comments (14) by twitter | Filed Under Google AdWords

Unfortunately for some Google AdWords subscribers, they've learned that there's no way to cancel the Google AdWords account -- you can only deactivate the account. And they're unhappy because they don't want Google having access to their information, even if Google is such a big company.

I suppose I have no choice but to cancel the credit card I used for this account- to assure Google will not have access to my financial information- and move on.

While this is frustrating to some, it makes a whole lot of sense to others:

From google's point of view, they don't want people closing accounts, then starting new ones without it relating back to what happened in their old account. Look at the number of posts in this forum that claim the way to solve a problem in an account is close it and start a new one.

But deleting the account completely could be a bad idea, especially if you want to access reports at a later date. Some forum members find that rather useful. In a few years, it could be like nostalgia. ;)

Forum discussion continues at DigitalPoint Forums.

Previous story: The Local Sphere: Does it Better than Google
blog comments powered by Disqus