Google is now showing the individual who submitted a review on Google Local if the submission was removed.
If you submit a review on Google Places/Maps/Local and for some reason the review was removed, Google will show the user who submitted it that it is no longer visible to anyone but yourself.
The notice reads:
This review doesn't adhere to our content policies and is visible only to you. Please check out this link for additional information on our policies.
Here is a picture from Mike Blumenthals blog:
This makes it clear to the submitter that the comment was removed.
Forum discussion at Google+.