Google's In-Depth Reconsideration Requests Only For Limited Languages

Nov 14, 2012 • 9:12 am | comments (1) by twitter Google+ | Filed Under Google Search Engine Optimization
 

Google Webmaster ToolsGoogle has recently been giving more detailed reconsideration requests to some webmasters and it has been appreciated. But that is not supported in most languages at the moment.

Gianluca Fiorelli posted a complaint about a response his friend received from a reconsideration request that lead to a response from Google that read:

Thank you for your request.

We’ve found that the majority of your site’s content is in a language we do not currently support. Right now, we’re only able to offer language support for English.

While we look forward to supporting your language, we don’t yet have a date as to when it will be available for you. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely, The Google Search Quality Team

That confused me, so I emailed Google what that is about. It simply is something I've never seen before.

Google's Matt Cutts responded on HackerNews explaining that this is in response to providing a more detailed explanation for a reconsideration request. Meaning, Google is only doing this for specific languages.

Matt wrote:

People have told us that they'd like to have additional feedback though--not just a "yes/no" type of answer. So we've been experimenting with giving more in-depth answers.

This person, after violating our quality guidelines, had done multiple reconsideration requests. His English-language reconsideration request was selected to get a more personalized response, but then when the Googler started to investigate the site, the actual site was in Italian. That's what triggered the "this language is not supported" message because the person handling the case was expecting an English-language site based on the English-language reconsideration request.

So it is not that Google does not respond to reconsideration requests but that they do not do so in detail when it comes to all languages.

The message Google sent the webmaster could have been a bit clearer.

Forum discussion at HackerNews.

Previous story: 360 Degree Images & Shortlists Comes To Google Shopping
 

Comments:

Brandon

11/14/2012 04:36 pm

Yeah, that's just confusing. If you have an Italian site and you want advice about it, don't go asking in English for people to take a look at it.

blog comments powered by Disqus